This copy is for the school records. The original is held by the School Governance Team, Cambridgeshire County Council.



CAMBRIDGESHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

(INSTRUMENT OF GOVERNMENT FOR VOLUNTARY AIDED SCHOOLS) (Education Act 2002)

1 September 2015

In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 20 of the Education Act 2002, ("the Act"), and after carrying out such consultations as are required to be carried out in accordance with provisions established under the Act. This instrument is being made in accordance with The School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012. Cambridgeshire County Council, being the local authority, hereby make the following Order.

This Order may be cited as the Cambridgeshire County Council (Instrument of Government for Voluntary Aided Schools) (Education Act 2002) and shall come into force on 1 September 2015.

The instrument of government for the voluntary aided school named in paragraph 1 overleaf shall be that set out in paragraphs 2 onwards.

The said instrument shall have effect in substitution for any instrument of government for the said school in force immediately before the coming into force of this Order, in accordance with paragraph 11 overleaf.

Paragraph

- 1. The name of the school is **ST ANNE'S CHURCH OF ENGLAND PRIMARY SCHOOL**.
- 2. The school is a **VOLUNTARY AIDED SCHOOL**.
- 3. The name of the governing body is "The governing body of St Anne's Church of England Primary School".
- 4. The governing body shall consist of:
 - a. 2 elected parent governors
 - b. 1 LA governor
 - c. 1 headteacher
 - d. 1 elected staff governor
 - e. 9 foundation governors (see also paragraphs 7 and 8 below)
 - f. 2 co-opted governors (who could be members of staff). The total number of coopted governors who are also eligible to be elected as staff governors, so when counted with the elected staff governor and headteacher, must not exceed one third of the total membership of the governing body.
- 5. Total number of governors: **16**
 - (except at any time when the headteacher has given notice under Regulation 19 of the Constitution Regulations that s(he) chooses not to be a governor, when the total number of governors will be 15).
- 6. The term of office of co-opted governors is two years and all other categories (other than an ex-officio governor and the headteacher) is four years.
- 7. The foundation body entitled to appoint foundation governors is as follows Ely Diocesan Board of Education (8).
- 8. (a) The holder of the following office shall be a foundation governor ex-officio: Principal Officiating Minister of St Mary the Virgin, Godmanchester (1).
 - (b) The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the school is situated shall be entitled to appoint a foundation governor to act in the place of the ex-officio foundation governor whose governorship derives from the office named in (a) above, in the event that the ex-officio foundation governor is unable or unwilling to act as a foundation governor, or has been removed from office under regulation 21(1) of the Regulations.

- 9. The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the school is situated is entitled to request the removal of any ex-officio foundation governor and to appoint any substitute governor.
- 10. Subject to Regulation, a description of the ethos of the school is given below:
 - "Recognising its historic foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and diocesan level. The school aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith and promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils."
- 11. This instrument of government comes into effect on 1 September 2015.
- 12. This instrument was made by order of Cambridgeshire Local Authority on 22 May 2015.
- 13. A copy of the instrument must be supplied to every member of the governing body (and the headteacher if not a governor).